Department of Chemistry, founded in 1953 has the distinction of being the very first department under the then Faculty of Science established at the Elsa Kazi Campus of the University in Hyderabad. The department was shifted to Allama I.I. Kazi Campus, Jamshoro in 1961. The status of the department was raised to that of the Institute of Chemistry in 1967. The Institute was named as Dr. M.A. Kazi Institute of Chemistry in 1999 after the name of its founder Chairman & Director (Late) Prof. Dr. Mumtaz Ali Kazi.

The Institute has been offering undergraduate, graduate and doctoral research programs in Analytical, Organic, Inorganic and Physical Chemistry. Since its inception the Institute has catered to the human resources requirements of the country in general and the region in particular. The graduates of this Institute are holding key posts in the country as well as abroad.

The Institute has 24 spacious and equipped laboratories wih highly qualified faculty. The Institute has to date awarded 53 Ph.D. degrees in addition to a number of M.Phils., since the introduction of doctoral research program in 1961.

The Institute also has the distinction of  having two of its graduates (i)  Late Prof. Dr. Zafar Hassan Zaidi and (ii) Prof. Dr. M.Y. Khuhawar, been admitted to the degrees of  Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) by the University of Leeds and the University of Birmingham, U.K. respectively, for their outstanding contributions towards research in their fields of specialization.

The Institute presently offers 4-year., B.S. Chemistry, 2-year M.Sc. (Pass) program both in the Morning as well as Evening, besides MS/ M.Phil and Ph.D. programs.