The Department was established in Hyderabad in 1955 with Prof. M.M. Memon as its first Chairman and was shifted to its own building at the Allama I. I. Kazi Campus, Jamshoro in 1970.

The Department offers BS & M.A./M.Sc. as well as M.Phil degrees.  Some of the special courses offered in the Department are Settlement Geography, Regional Planning, Bio-Geography, Desert Morphology, Environmental Geography and GIS. Recently a new practical Soil and Water Analysis has been introduced.

It has fullfledged cartographic section.  Its seminar library contains more than 3500 books.